Hold Your Horses

“Hold your horses”, sometimes said as “Hold the horses”, is an English-language idiom meaning “wait, slow down”. The phrase is historically related to horse riding or travelling by horse, or driving a horse-drawn vehicle.

The saying is typically used when someone is rushing into something. Someone is to slow down when going too fast, or to wait a moment, or to be more careful, or to be patient before acting.

Not surprisingly, this command dates back to the American West and the time of cowboys, six-guns, and wagon trains. A 19th-century United States origin, where it was written as ‘hold your hosses’ (“hoss” being a US slang term for horse) and appears in print that way many times from 1843 onwards. It is also the first attested usage in the idiomatic meaning.

Hahn’s West is more of a fulcrum used to help unearth new ideas and unusual pairings. Perhaps because, as a subject, the West is seen by Hahn as something he is both a part of and outside of at the same time. Hahn grew up in Leipzig when East Germany lasted into his teens, yet he travels often to the USA, and emphasizes his interest in the both region’s changes and impressions on him in his work over the past decade.

Hahn perceives the role of the West in the same way that Rebecca Solnit writes about it in River of Shadows, as having changed the world from “a world of places and materials to a world of representations and information, a world of vastly greater reach and less solid grounding”. Two of the most visible examples of this are Hollywood and Silicon Valley and these references extend as well into the work of Michael Hahn. He extracts many of the titles of his pieces from Hollywood films, and his engagement with technology exists much more at a hands-on, analogue level, suggests that we are in the midst of perpetual change, and that (for better or worse) the West is still a driving force at its centre.
Eadweard Muybridge, known for his photographic motion studies, is prominently referenced in Hahn’s toy train installation through his lesser-known landscape images of the West. Here the 19th century photographic depiction serves as a reminder for westward expansion and the railroad development being linked to the growth of capitalism and the massive developments in industrialization and technology in the Western World. These developments dramatically altered the landscape inhabited by the 19th century individual with effects lasting today, both aesthetically and socially.

The tendency toward combinations for Hahn extends beyond the material into both the mythic, larger, iconic West as well as a personal, internalized version of west. Crisscrossed through Hold Your Horses are themes of impermanence, deceleration, cooperation, play, fragility, and humour. Intimate drawings put things together without following rules. They feature forms that are simple, intuitive, and that merge natural with manufactured, machine-like and household forms. Similarly, objects are combined out of various materials, mostly found, and contain a Hollywood film or a Western movie genre reference. Hahn describes his film selections as concerned with “doing things together, relying on community and society. ‘Where is the maintenance guy?’ Is a line reference from the Karate Kid, someone who just came to California looking for help, luck, and in need of generosity. The ‘Three Amigas’, rather than the Three Amigos, come together to provide a shelter and stability. The work in this exhibition will us to stay good, kind. To slow down and think about things before reacting”.

Elizabeth Gerdeman

Silverado, 2022
aluminum, electronics, silverbush tumbleweed
Three Amigas, 2022
wood, plastic, paint, linoleum
Where is the Maintenance Guy?, 2022
steel, plastic, paper, pebbles, cork, paint, linoleum
Ride like the Wind, 2022
Series of 31 drawings
Ride like the Wind, 2022
Series of 31 drawings
Passage, 2022
steel, MDF, wood, paint, c-print, toy train
Hold Your Horses, 2022
plastic, steel, paint, band clamp, cart with wheels
The Plant That Wasn't There II, 2022

Hold Your Horses

„Hold your horses“, manchmal auch „Hold the horses“, ist eine englische Redewendung, die so viel bedeutet wie „Warte, mach langsam“. Die Redewendung bezieht sich historisch gesehen auf das Reiten, das Reisen mit dem Pferd oder das Fahren eines pferdegezogenen Fahrzeugs.

Die Formulierung wird in der Regel verwendet, wenn jemand überstürzt handeln will. Jemand soll langsamer werden, wenn er zu schnell fährt, oder einen Moment warten, oder vorsichtiger sein, oder geduldig sein, bevor er handelt.

Es überrascht nicht, dass dieser Ausdruck aus dem amerikanischen Westen stammt, aus der Zeit der Cowboys, der Revolverhelden und der Planwagenzüge. Er kommt aus den Vereinigten Staaten des 19. Jahrhunderts, wo er als „hold your hosses“ („hoss“ war US-amerikanische Umgangssprache für Pferd) geschrieben wurde und ab 1843 (erste belegte Verwendung dieser Redewendung) häufig in dieser Form im Druck erscheint.

Michael Hahns Westen operiert als Dreh- und Angelpunkt für neue Ideen und ungewöhnliche Kombinationen: Er versteht den Westen als etwas, von dem er Teil ist, aber zu dem er nicht vollständig dazugehört. Hahn wuchs in der DDR und in Ostdeutschland in Leipzig auf. Heute reist er häufig in die USA und betont sein Interesse an Veränderungen und Eindrücken beider Welten in seinen Arbeiten der letzten zehn Jahre.
Die Rolle des Westens nimmt Hahn ähnlich wahr, wie sie Rebecca Solnit in River of Shadows beschreibt: Der Westen hat die Welt von einer „Welt der Orte und Materialien zu einer Welt der Darstellungen und Informationen verändert, einer Welt mit weitaus größerer Reichweite und weniger festem Boden“. Zwei der sichtbarsten Beispiele dafür sind Hollywood und Silicon Valley. Bezüge zu diesen Orten finden sich auch in den Arbeiten von Michael Hahn: Die Titel seiner Werke in der Ausstellung beziehen sich auf Hollywood-Filme. Die Beschäftigung mit Technologie findet auf einer praktischen, analogen Ebene statt, mit der Vermutung, wir befänden uns inmitten ständiger Veränderung in deren Zentrum der Westen (im Guten wie im Schlechten) immer noch treibende Kraft ist.
Eadweard Muybridge, der für seine fotografischen Bewegungsstudien bekannt ist, wird in Hahns Spielzeugeisenbahn-Installation durch seine weniger bekannten Landschaftsaufnahmen des amerikanischen Westens prominent referenziert. Hier dient die fotografische Darstellung aus dem 19. Jahrhundert als Erinnerung an die Expansion nach Westen und die Entwicklung der Eisenbahn, die mit dem Wachstum des Kapitalismus und der massiven Industrialisierung und Technologieaneignung in der westlichen Welt verbunden ist. Diese Entwicklungen veränderten die Landschaft im 19. Jahrhundert dramatisch und haben bis heute anhaltende Auswirkungen, sowohl in ästhetischer als auch in sozialer Hinsicht.
Die Tendenz zu ungewöhnlichen Verbindungen geht für Hahn über das Materielle hinaus und betrifft sowohl den mythischen, weiten, ikonischen Wilden Westen als auch eine persönliche, verinnerlichte Version des Westens. Durch Hold Your Horses ziehen sich Themen zu Vergänglichkeit, Langsamkeit, Zusammenarbeit, Spiel, Zerbrechlichkeit und Humor. Intime Zeichnungen fügen Dinge zusammen, ohne Regeln zu folgen. Sie zeigen Formen, die einfach und intuitiv sind und natürliche mit künstlichen, maschinenartigen und haushaltsüblichen Formen verbinden. Auch die Objekte werden aus verschiedenen, meist gefundenen Materialien zusammengesetzt und haben einen Bezug zu Hollywood-Filmen und dem Western-Genre. Hahn beschreibt seine titelgebenden Filmreferenzen als „Dinge gemeinsam zu tun, sich auf die Gemeinschaft und Gesellschaft zu verlassen.‘Where is the Maintenance Guy?’ (Wo ist der Hausmeister?) ist eine Anspielung auf Karate Kid, einen Teenager, der gerade nach Kalifornien gekommen ist, um Hilfe zu suchen, Glück und Unterstützung zu finden. Die ‘Three Amigas’ (Drei Freundinnen), und nicht die Three Amigos, kommen zusammen, um einen Schutzraum und Stabilität zu bieten. Die Arbeiten in dieser Ausstellung sollen uns dazu veranlassen, gut und freundlich zu bleiben, behutsamer zu sein und nachzudenken, bevor wir die Pferde durchgehen lassen“.

Elizabeth Gerdeman

Silverado, 2022
Aluminium, Elektronik, Silberdrahtpflanze
Three Amigas, 2022
Holz, Kunststoff, Lack, Linoleum
Where is the Maintenance Guy?, 2022
Stahl, Kunststoff, Papier, Granulate, Kork, Lack, Linoleum
Ride like the Wind, 2022
Serie, 31 Zeichnungen
Ride like the Wind, 2022
Serie, 31 Zeichnungen
Passage, 2022
Stahl, MDF, Holz, Farbe, C-print, Modellbahn
Hold Your Horses, 2022
Kunststoff, Stahl, Lack, Gurt, Rollwagen
The Plant That Wasn't There II, 2022